How Does the Indian Premier League Take Place Every Year? Explained IPL Format


Our guide has covered how the Indian Premier League takes place every? Our post got you all from the selection process to the format explanation.

What is IPL, and when does it take place every year?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual cricket tournament started in 2008. It takes place every year in the months of March, April and May.

It is known as the Indian cricket festival, founded by ex-vice-president of BCCI Lalit Modi to monetize the rise in T20 format popularity in India due to India’s win in the 2007 T20 World cup.

How are IPL teams selected?

IPL follows a franchise-based model, where every player gets selected via auction, held annually before the start of the tournament.

Players can be bought by two different methods, trading players through a trading window and signing players through auction.

Each signing player sets a minimum base price for themselves and joins that franchise which bids higher for that player.

At the end of each session, the franchise needs to make a call to renew the contract or release that player.

For overseas players, there are two mandatory rules:

  • Each squad can contain a maximum of eight overseas players
  • And playing IX must include seven Indian players, i.e. maximum of four overseas players.

Latest 2022 format of IPL

This time the BCCI made an exciting announcement and decided to include ten teams instead of 8 in the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League. They fall into respective groups mentioned below:

Group A

Mumbai, Kolkata, Rajasthan, Delhi, Lucknow,

Group B

Chennai, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Punjab, Gujrat

The format is structured in such a way that in total, seventy-four matches will be played by all teams, and each team will play 14 league matches: every cricket team will play ten matches with five teams and the remaining four matches with four different teams.

Seven matches will be played on home ground and the remaining one on away ground. A team gets two points for each win, a single point for a tie or no result and no points for a defeat.

At the end of ordinary league matches, the top four teams will be selected for playoffs, and the bottom six teams will be eliminated.

From here, IPL teams move towards the trophy and the game becomes more interesting.

The top two teams will face each other in the first qualifier round, the winner of that round moves directly toward the final match, but the loser gets another chance to make their position in the final match.

Moreover, the remaining third and fourth teams face each other in the eliminator round. The trounced team gets eliminated. The winning team needs to play the second qualifier round with the loser team of the first qualifier round.

The winners of the first and second qualifier rounds face each other in the final round, where the tournament winner gets the IPL trophy.